The Flaming Lips release 15th studio album, King's Mouth: Music And Songs

July 29, 2019


King's Mouth available now on vinyl, CD and digital platforms. King’s Mouth: Music And Songs was produced by The Flaming Lips, Dennis Coyne and Scott Booker with additional production by Dave Fridmann and Mike Fridmann. This is The Lips’ first new studio album since 2017’s Oczy Mlodyand features twelve new originals that create a conceptual storyline threaded together by the dulcet-toned narration from Mick Jones of The Clash.The music provides the soundtrack for Wayne Coyne’s immersive art installation of the same name.

“Musically, King’s Mouthis very Soft Bulletin / Yoshimi — you know, orchestral space rock psych flower power pop…there are so many great moments on this album. Glad to have that spirit back in a new Lips record. A psychedelic experience that is kind of like the last 10 minutes of 2001: A Space Odyssey.” Brooklyn Vegan

’King’s Mouth’is planetarium-ready space pop.” –Stereogum

“Consistently weird, consistently fresh, artistically adventurous. Nowhere is the band’s bold vision more evident than on its new album KING’S MOUTH: MUSIC AND SONGS. A full-on concept album,King’s Mouth breaks new ground.” – The Daily Beast

“’King’s Mouth’ is the most “Flaming Lips” release you could possible imagine…a psychedelic explosion of sound. Kind of a spiritual follow up [to The Soft Bulletinand Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots] it returns to the breezy, optimistic space pop that made them the band of choice. Classic Lips…the most complete Flaming Lips album in over a decade.” – Under The Radar